Relevations

It was my birthday last Monday. When a birthday comes around, it is a time of reflection. How has this year different from last year? Have I made any personal achievements? Have I bettered myself in any way. I think it is on the “no” side. I am where I was last year, financially, well, maybe worse because now I have car payments. The SO and I are better I suppose. We’re still together and that is more than I can say for most people I know. We love each other and every year, it just deepens.

For my birthday, we went to eat at Dragonfly. It was delicious, scrumptious, and all those synonyms for tasty. Then we went to see Avenue Q. It was great! I think the SO liked it a little but more than I did. It is basically Sesame Street for adults. We came home and had my favorite ice cream cake. At the restaurant, one the servers made me a birthday cake! It was a surprise and everyone came out and sang happy birthday. I have to confess, I got a little teary eyed. I felt special.

I did go to the Women’s Career Expo on Friday. It was tailored to older women, more like displaced homemakers. I did take advantage of the resume critique and mock interview. Hopefully, this will help me land that hard-to-find grown up job. I keep on trying to be optimistic, but it is difficult in these financial times.

Next week, I have four days off in a row. There is going to be a lot of baking. Sugar cookies are on the list. I don’t know what else I should make.

Leave a comment

Filed under baking, Home, Life, Work

Leave a Reply

