Baking Hiatus?

Not so!  I have been baking, my camera has been MIA lately, but fear not; I have pictures of the Banana Bread that I made last week.  And, as of right now, I am making Chocolate Crinkle Cookies.  It smells really good right about now.
Besides all that, what’s new?  Well, I did send in my resume and cover letter into the UPF and I am still waiting.  Or, perhaps, I have been in denial still thinking I have a chance.  I figured they won’t be having interviews during final exams, so I am still hoping that the when January comes around; I’ll be getting an email or phone call.
I currently have tickets to the BCS National Championship because my beloved Gators are playing against the Oklahoma Sooners.  The SO got me the ticket and I threatened to break up with him if he gave it to someone else.  However, I am now compelled to get him an amazing birthday/Christmas gift since the dates are only 1 day apart.  Any ideas?  He knows I am getting him new running shoes because he needs them and he said he wants to do some race next year.  But, what about another?  I am thinking I should get him a new, bigger, prettier dutch oven.  I haven’t decided though.  We’ll see, I have plenty of time.

I am disappointed with my Chocolate Crinkle Cookies.  They aren’t as white as other bakers’ pictures.  They smell AMAZING though.  I’m kind of sad.  I wondered what I did wrong.  Perhaps, any of you can tell me what I did wrong.  I followed the recipe exactly, except I started on these cookies too late and didn’t see that they had to chill in the refrigerator for two hours.  I let them sit all night.  Perhaps, that was it.  That’s the only thing I can think of.  Or, I just didn’t put enough confectioner’s sugar on it.  That is probably the case.  Oh well, better luck next time.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

adapted from “Field Guide to Cookies”

6 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbs unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 Tbs cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
confectioners sugar for rolling

Melt chocolate and butter over a double boiler. Remove from heat and set aside.

In the meantime, whip the eggs with the sugar until thick. Add the vanilla extract and the melted chocolate and mix.

Sift flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder into a bowl and add this to the chocolate mixture. Mix until combined.

Place this bowl in the refrigerator for about 2 hours until the dough hardens enough to scoop out.

Preheat oven to 325F. Scoop one inch balls. Roll these in powdered sugar and place them on sheetpans lined with parchment paper. Flatten the tops of the cookies a bit with your fingers and bake until set for about 12 minutes.

0631 067

Now onto my more successful Banana Bread.  I made a couple weeks ago for the SO’s mom because we were staying at her house for a day.  We went to Atlanta to see the Gators play and it was amazing.  I left my camera at home so no pictures of the game, but it was CRAZY.  Anywho, the SO’s mom loved it and the second time I made it, everyone else loved it too.  Sorry, I forgot to take pictures of of the bread outside the loaf pan.  The SO really wanted to eat it.

Banana Bread (adapted from Kitchen Confit)

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cup mashed bananas

2 eggs beaten

1 t. vanilla

2 cups flour

1 t. baking soda

1/2 t. salt

1/2 cup milk

pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon (optional)

1/2 cup walnuts or pecans

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degree.  Butter and flour a loaf pan.

Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in one bowl and set aside.  Cream butter and sugar together.  Add in the mashed bananas, eggs and vanilla.  Add in the flour mixture.  Add in the milk as well as the nutmeg, cinnamon and nuts it needed.

Pour mixture into the prepared loaf pan.  Bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours.  Remove from oven and let rest in the pan for 15 minutes.  Then remove from pan and let fully cool on a rack.

To freeze – double wrap the loaf in aluminum foil and place in a zip lock plastic bag.

The only difference I made to the recipe was that I added more banana.  I had a lot of bananas so I used like 3 instead of the 1.5 like Kitchen Confit did on the website.  And, I used less nuts because the SO doesn’t like too much nuts.  Overall, the banana bread was a smashing success.

0012 002

1 Comment

Filed under cookies

One response to “Baking Hiatus?

  1. Glad to hear you liked the banana bread. And you’re right about the amount of banana mush. While my Mom’s recipe calls for 1 ½ cups, she would never really measure it out. She’d just mash up however many ripe bananas she had laying around and throw them in. It never resulted in bad banana bread – if anything more bananas made the bread better.

Leave a Reply

