To pop or not to pop…that is the question

Well, not really the actual question.  I burned myself making some salted caramels.  So, now I have a huge blister on my wrist.  It’s kind of gross.  It looks like a huge wart on my wrist.  Kind of cool kind of not.  Oh well.  I would say the caramels were more or less a success.  I am not going to call it a complete success because the texture was wrong, so wrong.  It was super hard.  The flavor was great!  I don’t mind sucking on it.  But, the final product was not what I was looking for.  However, the SO and I agreed that the taste was so worth it that I would do again some other time.  I don’t know when though.  The burn hurts.  After I let it cool, I wanted to let coat it in chocolate and all that jazz.  But, it wasn’t meant to be, maybe next time.

Salted Caramels (from eatmakeread)

1 cup heavy cream
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 teaspoon fleur de sel
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup
1/4 cup water

1
Line bottom and sides of an 8-inch square baking pan with parchment paper, then lightly oil parchment.
2
Bring cream, butter, and fleur de sel to a boil in a small saucepan, then remove from heat and set aside.
3
Boil sugar, corn syrup, and water in a 3- to 4-quart heavy saucepan, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Boil, without stirring but gently swirling pan, until mixture is a light golden caramel.
4
Carefully stir in cream mixture (mixture will bubble up) and simmer, stirring frequently, until caramel registers 248°F on thermometer, 10 to 15 minutes.*
5
Pour into baking pan and cool at least 2 hours. Cut into 1-inch pieces, then wrap each piece in a 4-inch square of wax paper, twisting 2 ends to close.

I unfortunately forgot to wrap them in wax paper and just stuck them together in a bowl because I was very frustrated with them. 

003          004

Better luck next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

