Pumpkin cat

Yes, I dressed up the cat in a little pumpkin costume. She is too cute! She hated every minute of it though. And, the SO thought it was ridiculous, but I thought it was great! She was such a sport for letting me do that to her.

On to other things…Baked things that is. I made chocolate almond biscotti. I was going to do a recipe I found online. I actually started to do it. The first step was to toast the almonds in olive oil. The next step was to melt chocolate. I unwrapped the Ghiradelli chocolate bar, and they had a recipe for biscotti on the back of the wrapper. It took me five to minutes to decided, but ultimately I went with Ghiradelli. And, am I glad I did. They were delicious! They were crunchy and yummy. I didn’t have the instant coffee, so I went without and added an extra half a teaspoon of vanilla extract to make up for it. The SO really enjoyed it. He loves biscotti, so now he has a whole plateful to last him for a while.

Back to when I said that I was going to do something about my itchy feet, I actually did. I made a post in my LJ community asking for help and advice. Someone actually replied back to me. I am so excited. We have exchanged a few emails and I hoping something will happen.

Wish me luck

Edit: I apologize, I forgot to add the recipe to the Chocolate Almond Biscotti.

Chocolate Almond Biscotti

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. Lightly grease and flour large baking sheet (I sprayed with Pam).
  3. In a small bowl,stir the eggs,instant coffee and vanilla until well blended; set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  5. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.
  6. Beat in egg mixture.
  7. Gradually add the flour mixture, beating well after addition.
  8. Stir in chocolate and nuts.
  9. Divide the dough into 2 equal portions.
  10. On a lightly floured surface, shape the dough into 2 logs, each 14″ long, 1-1/2″ wide, and 1″ thick.
  11. Place the logs on baking sheet.
  12. Bake for 25 minutes or until lightly browned.
  13. Set the baking sheet on a wire rack to cool 10 minutes.
  14. Remove the logs to cutting board (I usually just cut them on the cookie sheet). Cut with serrated knife cut diagonally into 1/2 inch thick slices.
  15. Place slices 1/2 inch apart upright (not on sides).
  16. Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until slightly dry.
  17. Remove to rack to cool.
  18. I leave mine on cookie, let cool.
  19. Then drizzle with melted chocolate (I melt chocolate in microwave).
  20. The chocolate is just my addition – so good with a cup of coffee.
  21. Store biscotti in air tight container.
1 Comment

Filed under cookies

One response to “Pumpkin cat

  1. somethingfunky

    OMG.
    WHAT DID YOU DO TO YOUR CAT?!

Leave a Reply

