Gator Football and Streusel Banana Bread Muffins

Hi hi. It’s a Saturday in Gainesville; that means it’s Game Day. The Gators are playing the University of Kentucky. We are killing them. Three blocked kicks! Crazy! I’m kind of sad that I couldn’t go to the game today. I have to work at the restaurant at 5, so I didn’t think I could make it to the game and come home in time. Whenever I go to the game, I always get the blue cotton candy, the lemonade, and sometimes, a pretzel. I just love to eat while watching the game. Can you believe that I started going to Gator games when I started dating the SO? What’s even more unbelievable was that I was a Canes fan before I came to UF. My parents couldn’t afford for me to go. Anyways, enough about Gator football and on to Streusel Banana Bread Muffins.

After I made the Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes, I decided to make muffins since I have the tray for it. The SO said he really likes banana nut muffins. But, I know he really loves Dutch apple pie. So, I found a recipe with both banana and streusel. He said it was as good as the cupcakes. He took a good chunk of the muffins to the tailgate today for “kegs and eggs.” I hope they enjoy it. Muffins are kind of like cupcakes. However, I don’t have to put frosting on them which them a bit easier than cupcakes.

Streusel Banana Bread Muffins (from Salt and Chocolate Girl)

Streusel Banana Bread Muffins
3 eggs
1 cup of vegetable oil
2 cups of sugar
3-4 mashed overly ripe bananas
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
3 cups AP flour
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
1 tablespoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of baking soda
Streusel Topping – see recipe below

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line 2 regular size muffin pans with paper liners.
In a large bowl beat eggs until light and frothy. Mix in the oil and sugar. Stir in the bananas and vanilla. Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Pour the flour mixture into the egg mixture and mix until combined. Fill each liner until it is 3/4 of the way full then top evenly with the Streusel Topping. Bake for 20-25 minutes or they are a little past golden brown. Cool on a rack in the pans for 5 minutes then remove from the pans let it cool completely.

Streusel Topping

7 tablespoons of butter, melted and cooled
1 cup AP flour
½ cup sugar
½ teaspoon of cinnamon
¼ teaspoon of baking powder
¼ teaspoon of salt

Mix flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and salt together, add in the cooled butter, stir with a fork until blended. When it starts to form crumbs, squeeze it with your hands to form larger lumps and then break them apart. Let sit for 10 -15 minutes before using.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

