First visual adventure

I made Guinness cupcakes yesterday. This is the first time I took pictures of anything I baked. Very exciting. I want my blog to be something like the Cathy on the Noble Pig. She is an extremely witty writer and she comes up with great recipes. And, I really enjoy reading her posts on wine. My palate is not yet mature enough to beyond my likings of German Riesling. I do relish the Willamette Valley Vineyards 2007 Riesling. It was yummy and off dry. I appreciate sweeter tasting wine. However, my absolute favorite wine/Riesling is Hahn 2007 Riesling Piesporter Michelsberg. I couldn’t find an adequate site for it. If I am drinking with friends, they tend to go for the Pinot Grigio. It’s fine, but sometimes it’s lacking something. I just haven’t figured out what it is though. The one Pinot Grigio I did buy and enjoy was Mommy’s Time out 2007 Pinot Grigio. Sorry, the site isn’t that informative. But, for some reason, it has whatever the other Pinot Grigios were lacking.

My palate hasn’t advanced to red wines yet. I’m waiting. The SO loves the red though. I try every bottle he drinks even though I still haven’t found one that I liked. The SO likes Pinot Noirs, Merlots, Malbecs, and combination red wines. He drinks Red Truck 2006 California Red Wine a lot. He likes to try new stuff, but that bottle is the only one he has bought more than once. I always pick by the label; at least you can look at something interesting as you’re drink.

I apologize though. I was supposed to go on and describe my baking adventure with the Guinness cupcakes, not wines and my maturing palate; perhaps I will next time. I have a confession though. I don’t like Guinness. I don’t like any beer for that matter. I made these cupcakes because it seems like everyone I know really enjoy Guinness. It was the second time I made them. The first time came out great, but the frosting was not what I wanted. I made a regular cream cheese frosting, but I wanted to make a Guinness tasting frosting. So, I made the frosting I wanted to make in the second batch. The frosting made the cupcakes more complex and had more depth than a regular cupcake. And, the Guinness frosting, I was told, reminded the eater of the foam on top of Guinness. All in all, the cupcakes were a success! Also, I normally don’t make cupcakes. I feel like cookies are the more preferred vehicle of my baked goods. You can make more for more people and it’s easily accessible and portable. And, I am all about convenience.

Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes (adapted from Airy Fairy)

Cupcake
1 cup Guinness
1 stick + 1 Tb unsalted butter
¾ cup cocoa
2 cups dark brown sugar
¾ cup sour cream
2 eggs
1 Tb vanilla extract
2 cups flour
2 ½ tsp baking soda

*Frosting
8 oz cream cheese
1 ¼ cups icing sugar
1/3 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake tray.

Combine the Guinness and the butter (chopped into 1 inch chunks) in a double boiler and heat to melt the butter. Remove from heat and whisk in the cocoa and sugar.

In a bowl, combine sour cream, eggs and vanilla, then add to stout mixture.

Sift together flour and baking soda and fold into batter.

Pour into cupcake cases and bake for 25 mins or until toothpick comes out clean. Let stand 10 mins and then remove from tray and cool on a wire rack.

In a mixer, whisk together ingredients for icing and spread over cooled cupcakes.

I dusted some cupcakes with cocoa powder for garnish and some fanciness.

*Note: Instead of the milk, I just used Guinness instead. Without it is fine, but the SO and others say that the Guinness frosting adds to the flavor and cuts down the sweetness. Other recipes call for Bailey’s liquor to make it an Irish Car Bomb. I think I am going to try that next time.

Pictures

My first documented baking journey! I am so excited. I think I will be making caramels soon. Another first! I have never made any type of candy and the SO finally got me a candy thermometer! Super ecstatic!

I am also sorry if my cupcake pictures look weird.  I am still trying to learn how to photograph food.  It’s completely different than people, animals, and scenery.  If you have any tips, please share!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

